See the finalists in 16 categories

Photo: Carolyn Simancik/Eclipse Sportswire

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily race form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters announced the finalists for the 2021 Eclipse Awards on Saturday, recognizing excellence in thoroughbred racing. Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced on TVG and other outlets during the 51st Annual Eclipse Awards on Thursday, February 10 at 8 p.m. EST. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the Horse of the Year 2021.

Of the 245 eligible voters represented by the NTRA, comprised of racetrack racing officials and field staff from Equibase, NTWAB and Daily Racing Form, 235 (95.9%) took part in the vote. Finalists were determined in each category by the first three voter selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Prize winners are determined solely by first place votes.

The 2021 Eclipse Awards finalists, excluding Horse of the Year, listed in alphabetical order are:

2 year old male: Cornice, Jack Christopher, Modern Games (IRE)

2 year old filly: Echo Zulu, Juju Card, Pizza Bianca

3 year old male: Essential Quality, Life Is Good, Medina Spirit

3 year old filly: Glade, Malathaat, Santa Barbara (IRE)

Old Dirt Male: Knicks Go, Maxfield, Mystical Guide

Older Dirt Woman: Letruska, Marche Lorraine (JPN), Shedaresthedevil

Men’s sprint: Aloha West, Flightline, Jackie’s Warrior

Female sprinter: Bella Sofia, Ce Ce, Gamine

Male Lawn Horse: Inland Spending (GB), Space Blues (IRE), Yibir (GB)

Female Lawn Horse: Loves Only You (JPN), Santa Barbara (IRE), War Like Goddess

Obstacle course horse: Baltimore Bucko (GB), Snap Decision, The Mean Queen (IRE)

Owner: Godolphin LLC, Juddmonte Farms Inc., Klaravich Stables Inc.

Breeder: Ferme Calumet, Godolphin LLC, Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC

Coach: Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Brad Cox

Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr., Flavien Prat, Joel Rosario

Apprentice Jockey: John Hiraldo, Charlie Marquez, Jessica Pyfer

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Justin Mustari will receive the Eclipse Award as 2021 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Voting for the Eclipse Awards is done by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association and Daily race form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is hosted by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.